The day I gave notice…

Just wanted to give you a little insight into where my mind was the day I gave notice…

04/01

Last straw conversation with my boss – check!

Gave notice – check!

Made a plan – oops!

The 12th will be my last day.  I cannot wait.  I can’t pretend anymore I haven’t hated walking in that building every day for a year.  I haven’t been able to get more than about five hours of sleep a night since I gave my notice.  I wake up playing all the conversations with my boss in my head; what I said, what I should have said.  Bottom line is, he was a lunatic and this company is not a good fit for me and my family.

For the first time in my life I have a little money in the bank and can make a decision to cut ties, shake it off and start again.  Start again, what does that even mean?  To be honest, I stumbled into logistics in the first place, definitely without meaning to make a career of it.  But eight years later, here I am.  I have an odd back ground, not sure I want to stay in this field.  What can you even start over and do at my age?  What would you do if you had a choice?

I always wanted to sell real estate.  I even went so far as to get my license in Texas and sold a house.  Unfortunately I have never had the time or money to build up a real business.  That is actually a choice I could make now.  That and write.

I always like to think these things happen for a reason.  I can guarantee you working the schedule I was working, I could not have maintained that and actually ever have a chance of being the person I am meant to be.  Maybe the experience was really bad for me so that I would venture out and really dig deep into what I need.  Maybe so…

Leave a Reply

